Beets in the Square Foot Garden

Prior to installing my square foot garden, I was a miserable failure at growing beets and that was disheartening to me because I love them! I always had problems with root pests or I could get the tops but the bulbs just didn’t grow at all. Happily, the Square Foot Gardening method has remedied this!

Beets are good companions for lettuce, cabbage, bush beans, onions, and carrots. They can also be planted in the same square with Kohlrabi and Spinach as they take nutrients from the soil at different levels!

Beets DO NOT make good companions for pole beans and field mustards.

Note:  I haven’t had any problems with root pests in my Square Foot Gardens but I have since learned that if any develop, adding a sprinkling of Bone Meal (just enough to cover the surface of the square) and the same amount of wood ash will discourage root pests.

Make sure to add compost prior to planting your squares and then plant 9 Beets to a Square Foot. Begin direct seeding 3 weeks before the last frost. If you don’t want them to all mature at the same time then start a batch every 2 weeks through mid-July. Seasonal weather permitting, harvesting will begin around the first week of June.

Leave a comment